Buddypass Frequently Asked Questions:

Do I need Facebook to create a Buddypass account?

Yes, we do this to ensure that you are interacting with real people who share similar interests and common friends. Buddypass will never post anything to your Facebook account, unless you direct us to do so. Your privacy will be respected at all times.

What if I don’t want people to know where I am or if I am close by?

Easily done, go to settings, and turn the “Notify others” button to off.

What if I only want to see my friends or only have friends see me on Buddypass?

Turn the “Others” button to off in the “Who sees you section” of the settings screen.

What if I don’t want my friends to see me on Buddypass and only new people to see me?

Turn the “Friends Only” button to off in the “Who sees you section” of the settings screen.

What if nobody appears in my search lists or when I enter a category?

Try increasing the km/ miles range in the settings screen. You can also try logging out and back in. Make sure the GPS (or “location services”) on your device is enabled. iOS users: Go to the iOS settings, select “General”, then tap “Background App Refresh”. Make sure “Background App Refresh” is enabled and that it is enabled for Buddypass.

How do I add friends on Buddypass?

Several ways. You can tap on the three vertical buttons found at the top right of a person’s profile page. You can also search for people on the “Add Friends” page. Buddypass is about real friendship and may suggest for you to add someone as a friend if you interact frequently enough or get together. You can always decline of course! You can also share Buddypass with your contacts and with your Facebook friends.

Does Buddypass keep or store my contact list when it asks for permission to access it?

No, Buddypass is only asking for access to give you the ability to easily invite friends from your contact list.

Someone is appearing as a friend, I don’t want them to?

Click on their photo, this will take you to their user profile, tap on the three vertical buttons found on the top right of the screen and select “unfriend”. Their friendship may be offered again if you interact with them regularly at a future point in time, but you can always decline.

Can I Block someone?

Yes, simply go to their user profile, tap on the three vertical buttons found on the top right of the screen and select “block user”. Please be certain this is what you want to do, it is a permanent action.

Can I Unblock someone?

Unfortunately not, blocking / reporting a user is a permanent action.

How to I change my Favorite Categories or re-arrange the Categories on my home page?

Press on any icon for a couple of seconds and it will start “wiggling”. You can then slide any icon you want anywhere you please.

I accidentally invited someone to an event that I didn’t mean to invite?

Sorry, once an invite is sent, it is too late to retract, but you can always tell them you don’t want them to come? Good luck with that!

I can’t find the invitation I just received or sent in my Received or Sent lists?

Invitations are sorted by date that they will occur, so events coming up in the near future will appear at the top of your list and events further away in time will appear further down. Events that have past, will appear “greyed out” at the bottom but are accessible so that you can quickly resend a successful event by choosing a new date and pressing Update.

I really like Events posted by certain people on Buddypass, how do I find these?

Click on their profile, scroll down and click on Announcements then you can see either their news posts or events open to all that they post.

I’m having trouble logging in?

Make sure you have the latest version of the Facebook app and the latest version of Buddypass. Go to the phone settings, try logging out of Facebook and back in. Also, make sure the GPS (“location services”) on your device is enabled. If all this fails, delete the Buddypass app and try reinstalling it and please report to us here if this doesn’t work.

My Facebook pictures are not showing up on Buddypass?

Make sure your pictures are in a public album or at least visible to your friends (not only you) on Facebook. You can also try moving your photos to a different album on Facebook. You can also add photos from your mobile device.

Someone who was a friend no longer appears in my friend section?

Try signing out and back in. If only one or two of your Buddypass friends disappeared, they either blocked you, unfriended you or deleted their account, if they all disappear, please contact support.

The app keeps crashing?

Please make sure you have the latest version of Buddypass and try deleting and then reinstalling the app. As long as you don’t delete your account you won’t lose any of your saved information, invitations, announcements and messages, etc. If the problem persists, please contact support.

How do I change my age?

Make sure you entered your actual age on Facebook and that your friends can see it (not only you), then log out and back in. There could be a delay but your age should update automatically in the next few hours. You can also delete your account and start over but this will delete saved information, invitations, announcements and messages, etc.

How do I change my other interests/ page likes?

These are uploaded from Facebook and will update automatically as you change them there, Buddypass updates this info from Facebook regularly.

How do I delete my account?

Go to the app settings screen, click on Contact Buddypass, then delete account. This will delete all your friends, messages, invitations, announcements, profile etc. This will not impact your Facebook account in any way. We sincerely hope you’ll be back! Note: Deleting the app does not delete your account or any of your Buddypass information and will not impact your Facebook account in any way.

If you couldn’t find the answer to your questions above, please contact support.

NOTE: Buddypass only supports iOS 5, 6, 7 and 8+ and Android 2.3, 3, 4, 4.4+